The Internal Struggle Of Chanel

by Kayla Parks

CHANEL. CHANEL! CHANELLLL. Gawd.

The name itself captures the very image of style. From Coco’s groundbreaking take on modern luxury to the iconic scent of Chanel No. 5, everything about the house is legendary in the fashion galaxy.

Screen Shot 2013-08-30 at 6.00.44 PM

Smells like Grandma. Take a deef whif.

Screen Shot 2013-08-30 at 6.03.33 PM

Classic #bosslady.

As a style lovah, I feel pretty much obligated to swoon over each season of Chanel like it’s my job (I wish).

Instead, I have this odd internal struggle. Chanel’s constant presence in the pages of Vogue (Karl + Anna = BFF) make the brand impossible to ignore. Glowing accounts of Kristen Dunst and Blake Lively wearing those flouncy lace Chanel whatevers happen every damn hour.

Screen Shot 2013-08-30 at 6.08.48 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-30 at 6.08.05 PM

That said, my confession might come as a shock: I HATE CHANEL. Yuuuup. Said it.

Screen Shot 2013-08-30 at 6.05.35 PM

Never would I ever…

Let’s dig a little deeper. Hi! I’m Kayla. I actually hate everything about the the aesthetic, campaigns, and designs Mr. Lagerfeld has created for Chanel over the past 25 years.

Screen Shot 2013-08-30 at 6.07.49 PM

Ok, Karl. Ok.

I literally feel betrayed by my high regard for great fashion. It’s just that year after year, Chanel Haute Couture and Ready to Wear is consistently buttugly! At least Chanel sure is consistent. I do love me some consistency. I guess for that alone, I can make my peace with Karl and his fugly designs.